Skip to content ↓
Reach 2

Primary Academy

Nursery & Reception

Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

Our Early Years’ Philosophy is based on a deep understanding of the ways in which children learn: through:

 ‘Playing & Exploring, Doing & ‘Reviewing’ and 'building on what they already know and can do’.

All learning experiences journey through ’concrete’, ‘pictorial’ and introduce ‘abstract’ processes; to ensure each child has a firm understanding of what they have learnt and the necessary skills to move on to the next stage of their schooling.

We strive to ensure ‘Our Pupils Make Outstanding PROGRESS’!

There are seven areas of learning within the Early Years Foundation Stage, and they provide the underlying principles that underpin the main areas of young children’s development.

Our Curriculum

At Woodside we teach a broad and balanced curriculum, themed through half-term topics, children interests and fascinations. We follow the statutory Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) framework for children aged from birth to five years of age.

Statutory EYFS Areas of Learning and Aspects

Prime Areas (main focus for under threes) Specific Areas

Personal, Social and Emotional Development

  • Self-regulation
  • Managing self
  • Building relationships


  • Comprehension
  • Word reading
  • Writing

Physical Development

  • Gross motor skills
  • Fine motor skills


  • Number
  • Numerical patterns 

Communication and Language

  • Listening, attention and understanding
  • Speaking

Understanding the World

  • Past and present
  • People, culture and communities
  • The natural world

Expressive Arts and Design

  • Creating with materials
  • Being imaginative and expressive


















Please click on the Nursery or Reception tab to read more about what we offer.